4. Devour Dessert Bar

You wouldn’t believe how excited I got when my friend suggested we visit Devour for those inevitable late-night sweets, I was like a fat kid jumping up and down for cake.  Literally.  It’s been almost exactly one year since the first and last time I was there.  And I have some pretty fond memories of the place. *wink*

So we rolled up around 10pm.  The cosy little shop is a hidden gem on Prospect Road with a real utilitarian vibe going on about it.  The strategically-scattered fixtures and the sprinkling of random equipment on the walls made the black-and-white decor that much more inviting.  I also particularly liked the slight mismatch of the wooden benches placed around the tables.

Kooky furniture which I likey.

See what I mean by the lamps being straight from the factory?

Knick-knack paddy wack.

Right into the desserts now!  My friend had recommended the Burnt Milk Panna Cotta, Peanut Butter Crunch, Blackberry Gel, PBJ Macaron and I trusted him, so here’s what I got:

The burnt milk panna cotta, peanut butter crunch, blackberry gel & PBJ macaron.

There are only two words to describe the panna cotta: heavenly and divine.  Soft, silky and smooth, it melted in my mouth leaving a sweet but mellow aftertaste.  The peanut butter crunch reminded me of those cornflake cups drizzled in honey you get to pig out on during Chinese New Year.  So yumz!  Together they make a delicious combo, a delight to the senses.  Slurrrrrrrrrrrrrrp.  However, the peanut butter & jelly macaron was just so-so, a bitty too sticky and thick for me.  And I still can’t figure out exactly what the green powder was, but ah well.  Yummy yummy in my tummy.

The panna cotta, gel and crunch.

The macaron.

Another dessert we ordered was the special of the night, Orange Mocha Frappeccino.  Inspired by the movie Zoolander – got to watch this somewhat classic – it consisted of orange gelato, coffee cake, espresso reduction, frozen chocolate mousse and milk foam.  Screams of molecular gastronomy, doesn’t it?

The Dessert Special: Zoolander-inspired orange mocha frappeccino.

I know, it looks like a blobby mess.  Nevertheless, the deconstructed-ness made for an interesting eat because you’re allowed a unique taste and texture sensation with every bite.  It’s like a classy pick-and-mix.  There were so many things going on I didn’t know what to think, but overall I suppose it was just nice.  To me.

The offering this dessert bar is most renowned for is their Bombe Alaska(s).  The flavours change with the season and this time round it was Bombe Alaska, Strawberry Parfait, Milk Crumbs, Macerated Strawberries.  Trust me, this is something you must whip your cameras out for.

The strawberry bombe alaska.

Wuiyoh!

Uh huh.  FAAAAAAAAAAAYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA~!  (Loosely translated as “fire”.)

I think the photos, um, they speak for themselves on this one. ;P

Last year, I already had their bombe alaska.  It was a mango concoction that time.  Mmmmm, impressive.  I managed to dig up an old pic I snapped of it too.

The mango bombe alaska.

Serious ooh la la.

Devour Dessert Bar is thoroughly recommended and a definite must-go on my part.  It is a little hard to get to for city-zens, but let me tell you, it’s truly worth the ride up.  Satisfaction guaranteed!

Another brill thing is they do make special desserts just for takeaways, how considerate is that!

Buh-bye.  `Till next time! (:

_____

Taste: 4.5/5

Presentation: 5/5

Value: 4/5

Service: 4.5/5

Ambience: 4.5/5

_____

Devour Dessert Bar

96 Prospect Road,

Prospect, SA 5082,

Adelaide, Australia.

t: 0411 536 343

w: http://www.facebook.com/DevourDessertBar

Devour Dessert Bar on Urbanspoon
_____

~ Chelle.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,081 other followers

